Posted by: supthecoast | April 28, 2011

Fidgeting

Days off. Some people love them. I however care a little less for them. Yes, I will agree that everyone needs to rest. Muscles can get overworked. Everyone needs physical and mental recovery. I have gotten to a point in my life where I am constantly doing something, going somewhere, getting something done, that when a “day off” comes around I cannot sit still, not to mention letting my mind rest. I cannot help but constantly think that there is something I am supposed to be doing. It has been drilled into my head for years that if you’re not doing something, you’re doing something wrong.

So where does that leave me? It leaves me fidgeting. Shuffling around pretending to be busy. And probably driving Mike insane. But he’s a good sport. Before we left on this trip I knew that I had two speeds, stop and go. And I usually don’t like to stop until I am done. So on off days I probably don’t get the well needed rest I need or should be getting because I get so caught up in thinking I should be doing something. Does any of that make any sense?

Maybe I am rambling but at least I am doing something, passing time with my feet up until we get back on it. Some people ask if we are going to just do nothing when we are done and take some time off. I usually say yes but I know it will last about a day or two and then I will have to start doing something. After all idle hands are the devil’s workshop.

With all that being said we have had an amazing stay on one of the hidden gems of the east coast, Bald Head Island. The folks at Coastal Urge and SUP Cleanup have been so welcoming and given us a great place to throw our feet up and relax. If you haven’t heard of Bald Head Island, check it out. It’s an interesting little place that seems to be going just the right speed. Thank you for having us.

20110428-025803.jpg
The view of the harbor/marina from the Old Baldy Lighthouse.

Will

Responses

  1. Will, I’d say that hiking to the top of a lighthouse on your off day confirms that you have a problem just taking a day off. Come on back to Savannah when you get time and we can give you another lesson on relaxing. Good to see you are having a great time and enjoying the journey. Peace. -Pat and the Savannah Crew


Leave a Reply

Categories

